Maryland Selected to Host First Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Tournament

University of Maryland Athletics will be joining the Big Ten Conference this Fall. However, the Terrapins have already been chosen for a major honor in one of the university’s premier sports.

The Big Ten announced that Maryland will host the conference’s first ever men’s lacrosse tournament next season. The tournament will be held at Byrd Stadium from April 30 to May 2, 2015, and will feature the conference’s top four lacrosse teams. Terrapins head coach John Tillman said that the tournament “will be a tremendous showcase for Big Ten lacrosse.”

The Big Ten added men’s and women’s lacrosse as sports in June 2013. That same month, the conference announced that Johns Hopkins University will be joining as an associate member in men’s lacrosse, starting with the 2014-2015 academic year. Maryland and Rutgers will become the fifth and sixth teams in Big Ten lacrosse. They’ll join Michigan, Penn State and Ohio State in lacrosse. Northwestern University will be an associate conference member in women’s lacrosse.

Rutgers will have the oldest men’s lacrosse program in the Big Ten when next season begins. The Scarlet Knights have been playing lacrosse since 1887. Penn State has been playing lacrosse since 1913, followed by Maryland, starting in 1924. Michigan has the newest men’s lacrosse team, adding the sport in 2012. The six Big Ten men’s lacrosse teams have a combined 56 national championships.

Maryland Advances to Final Four in Men’s, Women’s Lacrosse

By Andrew R. Koch

The University of Maryland will be well-represented at the Men’s and Women’s Division I Lacrosse Final Fours Memorial Day weekend in the Baltimore area.

The seventh-seeded men’s team advanced to the Final Four by defeating Bryant University 16-8 on May 17 at Hofstra University. Mike Chanenchuk scored five goals and added four assists, becoming the first Terrapins player to score nine points in a game since 1979. Maryland scored four goals in the first 4:14 of the game, and held Bryant without a possession for nearly the first five minutes. Maryland will play sixth-seeded Notre Dame at 3:30 p.m. on May 24 at M&T Bank Stadium. The teams split their regular season Atlantic Coast Conference matchups, with Maryland winning at Notre Dame 12-8 on April 19. The Fighting Irish got their revenge six days later with a 6-5 win in College Park.

Things didn’t go so well for the Johns Hopkins Blue Jays at the University of Delaware on May 18. The Blue Jays fell behind 6-0 in the first quarter against number one Duke. Hopkins pulled to within 12-10 on a goal by Holden Cattoni with 9:16 left in the third quarter, but the Blue Devils pulled away from there on the way to a 19-11 win. Duke has reached the Final Four for the ninth straight year, and will play fifth-seeded Denver at 1 p.m. on Saturday. Cattoni and Rob Guida each scored three goals, while Connor Reed added a goal and four assists for Hopkins, which¬† finishes the season with an 11-5 record.

In the Division I Women’s Lacrosse Tournament, top-seeded Maryland will be in the Final Four at Towson University over the holiday weekend. The Lady Terrapins defeated Duke 15-8 in College Park on Saturday to wrap up an undefeated season on their home field. Taylor Cummings led the way with five goals. Maryland is in the Final Four for the sixth straight year, and will play fifth-seeded Northwestern on May 23 at 7:30 p.m. at Johnny Unitas Stadium on the Towson campus. Northwestern reached the Final Four for the 10th straight year by defeating host and American Lacrosse Conference rival Florida 12-11 in overtime.

The other semifinal will pit second-seeded Syracuse against sixth-seeded Virginia. The start time for that game hasn’t yet been announced.